Skip to main content
Facebook Twitter Email Subscribe to eNews
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Rob-1969
Casual Contributor

Alcohol

Hello all, I am new here

I have been drinking heavily for 16 years and it is something I need to change.

I know I can not do this on my own and will be seeing a professional for help in a weeks time.

I would greatly appreciate hearing from other people who have been through this and or are in the process, to find out how you are with it and see if I might be able to learn from it

Thanks in advance

9 REPLIES 9
Clawde
Senior Contributor

Re: Alcohol

Hello @Rob-1969  welcome to our world, many of us in the same boat, have you tried AA I tried it, but found the politics were another level, but and however, the 12 steps really do work if only you apply yourself, and obviously you have done the first one, good on you 👍

Thanks Clawde

Yes I went once, a couple of years ago, I wasnt keen on the holy part of it and how prevelent it was.  I also don't think I was ready for it,   I would say I went because i was asked to not because I wanted. I guess it might be worth another visit

Clawde
Senior Contributor