Skip to main content
Facebook Twitter Email Subscribe to eNews
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

lotus85
Contributor

I'm so annoyed

I've struggled with depression for over 15yrs, been with my partner for 18. I'm a doormat and he is a narcissist. He was a junkie for the first years of our relationship, maybe 5 or more. Pretty sure our relationship is what triggered, and continues to feed, my depression. He has told me that my depression is a cop out. 

But he has been having some issues at work lately, and has the ordacity to ask me to make him a gp appt for a mental health check. R u frigging kidding me. I'm a cop-out but ur allowed to not be ok. How double sided is that. It's not fair. I get made to feel like a lepper but he expects me to what? Be there for him? Ffs. Of course I did it, but It feels like a gut punch. I will shut my mouth and not stir the pot, because I don't talk to him about issues with me. I can't, I get made to feel like a selfish piece of shit when I do. Just shut ya mouth and be a good lil wifey. F I hate my life sometimes.

15 REPLIES 15
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: I'm so annoyed

If this is the day in day out reality of your relationship, maybe it is time to look into other options (ie leaving).  I know it's hard, especially with the cost-of-living crisis.  But from what you have written it sounds miserable.  

Perhaps you could go to Relationships Australia for some counselling.

HI @lotus85 ,

Sounds like a tough situation. @Former-Member  made a good point about contacting Relationships Australia. Alternatively, maybe reaching out to1800RESPECT 1800 737 732?

https://www.1800respect.org.au/